About the Thurlow Hunt







Hunt Staff
Elliot Stokes Elliot Stokes


Elliot started his career working with hounds in 2010 with the Vale of Lune Harriers, from here he spent 3 seasons as 2nd whipper-in to Mr Peel at the North Cotswold, he then crossed the country to join the Quorn in Leicestershire as 1st whipper-in for 3 seasons. He now steps up as Huntsman following two seasons as 1st Whipper-in and Kennel Huntsman.






Dean-terrier-man-thurlow-huntDean Smith











Karen HallworthKaren Hallworth

Stud Groom

After a childhood filled with hunting, showing & pony club. Karen landed in a point to point yard where she was lucky enough to have a few rides on four year old maidens. Needless to say she spent more time hitting the deck than finishing! Dobbin, one of our current hunt horses here at Thurlow kindly shattered her wrist at Garthorpe. Thankfully he makes a better hunt horse than he did racehorse! Horses, hunting & hounds have always been a huge part of Karen’s life and at 20yrs old she travelled to America to whip in & be stud groom to a pack of fox hounds. She spent two valuable seasons there before returning to the UK where she spent a further season whipping in professionally before spending 6 years as a stud groom & amateur whip. She is qualified as an equine lecturer but she has traded grumpy teenagers back for horses & hunting!


Joint Masters

Mr & Mrs Robin Vestey

Mr Rowley Fenwick

Mrs Melanie Brooks


Hunt Committee

Chairman: Mr J Sharp

Committee Members:  Mrs M Maitland, Mrs D Claydon, Mr I Monks, Mrs J Crowhurst, Mrs T Breitmeyer, Mr G Honeywill, Mr D Dugdale, Mrs P Forbes, Mr W Burton

Hunt Secretaries:  Mel Sharp on 07714 263601 or melsharp-horse@outlook.com

Treasurer: Mr N Duthie

Financial Controller: Mr J Hough


Hunt Supporters Club

President: Robin Vestey MFH

Vice President: Annie Fenwick

Chairman: Clare Laurie

Hon Treasurer: James Hough

Hon Secretary: Sue Davies Scourfield


Point to Point Committee

Chairman: Rowley Fenwick MFH

Secretary: Gilly Lawes